Copyright

Anything not covered by other forums
Forum rules
No links to competing software producs, illegal material, serial numbers or ofensive material.

Copyright

Postby crafterscorner » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:53 pm

Hi,
I am new to this forum, so if I have posted this in the wrong place, or if it not a suitable subject, please forgive me.
I have been asked to convert a photograph to a cross stitch chart. Now, I do this all the time for customers without a problem, but this time the customer has told me that he wants to duplicate and sell the charts after he has had it stitched.
Now I know that the copyright to the picture is his as he took it (he is a professional photographer), but I am not sure what the position is regarding the copyright of my chart.
Any ideas as to what I should do?
Also, to complicate matters, he is the husband of my husband's cousin!!

Cheers,
Sue
crafterscorner

Re: Copyright

Postby DPSoftware » Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:04 am

I am not a legal expert but I think that you would be able to prevent this or to ask for suitable payment as the interpretation of the photo is your work. You would not however be able to sell the chart yourself because you do not have the permission of the original copyright holder of the photo. You should really agree on terms before you start as these things are much better handled by prior agreement than by legal means at a later date.

Either way, there are no problems using the software for this purpose.
Dave Peters
DP Software
www.dpsoftware.com
DPSoftware
Site Admin

Postby crafterscorner » Sun Feb 08, 2009 2:16 pm